African Fact-Checking Awards 2023 for Journalistic Excellence in Africa (USD7,000+ in Prizes)

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin

Application Deadline:  30 June 2023

The African Fact-Checking Awards, the longest-running awards programme honouring fact-checking journalism by the media in Africa, are in their tenth year.  Entries for the 2023 awards are now open to journalists, journalism students, and professional fact-checkers – across the continent. 


To qualify, entries must have been first published or broadcast in the period from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023. The fact-check should conclude that a claim about an important topic, originating in or relevant to Africa, is either misleading or wrong. 

The awards have three categories, with honours going to a winner and a runner-up. The categories are:

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Working Journalist 
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Professional Fact-Checker
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Student Journalist


To be eligible, entries for this competition must:

-Be the original work of the individual or team identified in the entry form as the author.

-Expose a claim on an important topic that originated in or is relevant to Africa as misleading or wrong.

-Be an original piece of fact-checking journalism first published or broadcast on any date from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023.

-Be received by the organisers before midnight GMT on 30 June 2023. Late entries will not be accepted.

-Be received by the organisers via the official entry form. No other means of sending in entries is allowed.

-Fact-checks can be published/broadcast in any language, but entry forms must be completed in either English or French. However, should the fact-checking report not be in English or French, a written translation must be submitted with the entry.

-By submitting an entry, the entrant confirms that they are the authors of the work, and that in the case of any dispute about this, this is entirely the entrant’s responsibility

-Reports published by Africa Check are not eligible for the competition.

-Judges reserve the right to move an entry from one category to another.

-Candidates can only enter for the awards in one category per year, but can submit more than one report if they choose.

-Should the entrant win a prize in the awards, we will send the money to a bank account to be nominated by them.

-At the shortlisting stage a representative of the jury may seek clarification on some points.

-Entrants who are found to be unethical about any aspect related to their entry will be disqualified.

-Entrants must agree to do media interviews and/or reports about the awards if they win.

-Entrants for the awards must agree to accept the judges’ decision as final.


  • The winners of the working journalist and professional fact-checker categories will each get a prize of US$3,000.
  • The runners-up will receive $1,500.
  • The winner of the student journalist category will be awarded $2,000, and the runner-up $1,000. 

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the African Fact-Checking Awards 2023

Leave a Replay

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit

Ne manquez jamais une opportunité

Recevez de nouvelles opportunités directement dans votre boîte de réception.